Crock-Pot Barbecue Pulled Pork

Since deciding to try the ketogenic diet on account of my migraines, I have found a newfound love for my crock-pot.

With that, I’ve been experimenting with more of Maria Emmerich‘s “Quick and Easy Ketogenic Cookbook” recipes. Next up was BBQ Pulled Pork – of course with additional garlic for the significant other.

As per usual, I had a few other additions to the recipe. First, I shook some No Ka Oi seasoning into the crock-pot before starting it (Spicy Seasoning that we picked up from Hawaii and was just delicious with the pork). Finally, I didn’t keep a lot of the broth from the crock-pot so the pork seemed a little dry to me once pulled. I mixed in Lucille’s Smokehouse Bar-b-que Smokin’ Steak Sauce which, amazingly, only has 1 carb per serving (found at my local grocery store, however you can purchase it directly from Lucille’s BBQ’s website at the link above). As someone who likes to cook but doesn’t have a lot of additional free time, I highly recommend it as an alternative to homemade barbecue sauce.

It turned out great and we enjoyed it in simple romaine lettuce cups. The boyfriend loved it so much that he asked for seconds. Unfortunately we managed to eat it all on the first round so there were no seconds to be had.

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

