Keto-Friendly Tacos and other uses for shredded Slow Cooker chicken

On Sunday my partner and I spent most of the morning running errands and most of the afternoon doing chores, so I wasn’t really up for an elaborate meal. Instead I took advantage of our trusty Crock-pot and made some shredded chicken (on low for 8 hours). I love making chicken this way because I’ve been picky about eating lean meats since I was a kid and it detaches any fat from the meat.

IMG_20170305_194207264

Ingredients:
1. Approx. 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs
2. 2 cups of chicken bone broth
3. 1 tsp fine sea salt
4. 1 tsp freshly ground pepper
5. 1 Tbsp taco seasoning (the premise behind the chicken was tacos – leave this out for more variety).

During this time I made my adapted low carb chocolate chip cookies to ship to a friend who is starting a ketogenic diet, tried my hand at making a chocolate version of a fat bomb recipe I found that utterly failed (I’ll share my failure and subsequent success when I get a chance to retry the recipe with a few tweaks in the near future), and generally took care of things around the house.

My significant other and I are huge fans of tacos and this is one of the things I missed most about the ketogenic diet (call it the influence of growing up in California where you can throw a stone and hit a taqueria). Low and behold, I discovered Mission Tortilla’s 3 net carb tortillas and it totally changed my life. So, in typical fashion, when the chicken was almost done I got to prepping toppings and it was a quick dinner. I shredded the chicken, we stuck it on top of tortillas, then loaded up on toppings. Toppings included: lettuce, shredded cheese, smashed avocado, sour cream, hot sauce, bell peppers, onions, and tomato. Consider your eating habits from the rest of the day to determine if bell peppers, onions, and tomatoes will fit in your macros. While my partner will have multiple tortillas, I will typically have one, to feel like I’m included, then load up my plate with all the goodies and just eat all of that. This helps to manage carbohydrate intake.

Now, with 2 lbs of shredded chicken and only two of us we ended up with leftovers. Our great uses for leftover chicken included:

  • On top of salads for lunch the next day
  • Spaghetti: for dinner the next night we spiralized zucchini to make zoodles and steamed them, heated up some tomato sauce on the stove and threw the chicken in it, and sprinkled Parmesan cheese on top for a great ketogenic-friendly take on spaghetti

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

