Filet Mignon and Mushrooms

Last Friday was my significant other’s birthday so I decided to try a recipe I knew he would love out of my new Ketogenic cookbook: “Quick & Easy Ketogenic Cooking” by Maria Emmerich. If you haven’t already been introduced to Maria, I highly recommend you stop over at her website and take a look around. She’s definitely a leader in the ketogenic diet space.

IMG_20170303_174151561

Adaptations

Now, I’ll be frank the recipe I tried and adapted, Marinated Tenderloin with Bordelaise Mushrooms, was actually quite easy but it was not quick. I used Maria’s marinade but chopping the 2 Tbsp of fresh thyme took significant time on its own. I also threw in about 3 times as much garlic as my partner is a garlic fanatic. Finally, I used filet mignon as my local grocer did not have center-cut beef tenderloins readily available. Also, because I was behind schedule after my prep work I took a shortcut on the mushrooms (see below).

Preparation

I also deviated a bit from Maria’s prep suggestions. I marinaded the steak at room temperature for 40 minutes, flipping once in between (so, 20 mins/side).

Cooking: Steak

IMG_20170303_173301401.jpg

Here is where I really deviated. I tend to be more comfortable baking than on the stove top and I took advantage of that here. I preheated the oven to 425 degrees. Instead of using coconut oil for cooking, I opted for butter – 2 Tbsp melted in an already hot cast iron skillet over medium-high heat. I set the steaks in for 4 minutes, then flipped them and immediately stuck the cast iron in the stove for 6 minutes. What this does is the cast iron sears the outside of the side just flipped onto it while the oven cooks the interior. After pulling them out I immediately transferred them to a plate and put tin foil tented over them and let them rest for 5 minutes while I cooked the mushrooms. We ended up with fantastic medium done steaks.

Cooking: Mushrooms

IMG_20170303_170346808

Because I was already behind schedule instead of doing Maria’s fancy mushrooms I opted for the lazy way out. I melted a Tbsp of butter and sauteed three cloves of garlic, chopped in it over medium heat (did I mention how much my partner loves garlic?). After they started to get soft I threw in the sliced mushrooms I had bought and sauteed them with the garlic over medium-low heat. These were very simple but turned out to be great paired with the steak.

This was actually my first time cooking a steak and having it turn out the way I wanted. Usually I accidentally overcook them, so I was very happy with the results.

We ended the meal with sliced strawberries and whipped cream made of heavy whipping cream and no added sugar.

Needless to say, it was a successful birthday dinner.

Happy cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

