My take on Ruled.Me’s Low Carb Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve always been a big baker. I make cookies for coworkers for the holidays, breads for friends just because (a hobby the significant other loves), and cupcakes for baby showers and get-togethers. So, after 2 weeks on the ketogenic diet, boy was I missing baked goods. I was also below my fat macros on a regular basis so I figured why not kill two birds with one stone and give Ruled.Me’s Low Carb Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe a try.

img_20170226_121704282img_20170226_124827608img_20170226_132949872

A few adaptations I made:

  • I used Lily’s chocolate chips (made from stevia instead), which reduced the carb amount pr cookie even more.
  • I used extra chocolate chips instead of adding crushed walnuts because my partner is not a big fan of walnuts.
  • Instead of Erythritol I used Swerve (the confectioners version), because I read in my meanderings about keto substitutes that it didn’t have the same bitter aftertaste that stevia can have and it’s a 1:1 ratio for sugar (beneficial for when I start converting some of my old family recipes to be ketogenic-friendly.

A few additional notes regarding the recipe:

  • I baked at 350 degrees for 11 minutes with 8 cookies on each cookie sheet. I do use an oven thermometer to test. If your last batch has less cookies, consider baking them for a minute or two less to accommodate.
  • I found that my cookies ended up quite fluffy. I squished the tops of a few of them down in later batches to make them easier to pack in tupperware. They all tasted the same, and I mostly just looked for them to brown slightly around the edges.
  • They did not expand at all, so the size they are on the cookie sheet is how they stay.
  • I let them sit and cool on the cookie sheet (with parchment paper) for about 5 minutes before moving them to my wire cooling rack. They do firm up over time so make sure you firmly grasp the sides to move it.
  • I recommend waiting a few hours to try them. My significant other and I found them to actually be more delicious after they set overnight. I know temptation can be difficult, but I promise it’s worth it.
  • I use a regular spoon to spoon my cookies onto a baking sheet. I found 1 batch made between 20 and 22 cookies.

These were so tasty (even according to my non-ketogenic partner). We ended up eating them all within 5 days – oops! Worth it.

I just made another batch this weekend to mail to one of my best friends and old roommates after telling her about them. She was put on a ketogenic diet to control pregnancy pre-diabetes. Once I hear her verdict I’ll be sure to share.

Happy baking!

One thought on “My take on Ruled.Me’s Low Carb Chocolate Chip Cookies

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑